Have you ever quit one MA and came back to a different ...

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by MowJ, Oct 11, 2015.

1. MowJ

MowJ Valued Member

One? From about mid 2011-13, about 1.5 years I studied Chuck Norris style karate. I quit and haven't trained since early 2013 in anything. Since that time I've developed T2 diabetes and am looking to get back into the arts because of that and because I miss it. There are several reasons I quit...work schedule, the owner changing class times every 3-4 months to accommodate the various other things he wanted to implement (Zumba, cardio kickboxing, etc), getting tested for a belt every 3 months and what I felt like was belt buying, having to join an organization before being able to test for advanced belts....I could go on. Anyway I'm at a better time to start back and instead of continuing in that style, I wanted to start in Hapkido. I know stylistically they are a bit different but I've always been intrigued by it. I can remember seeing in Black Belt magazine from about 1984 an article that said Hapkido gun disarm, that rang a bell and I still remember that catchy phrase today lol. Anyway, have any of you ever quit one art and after a layoff started back in another? I think the first time it took me awhile to realize I was standing in line at McDojos.

2. Bozza Bostik

Bozza Bostik Antichrist on Button Moon

Tons of times.

I had about a 9 year break from martial arts. I was doing mma and Greco Roman wrestling, got bored, took a break and started FMA. After a few months of that I also started capoeira. I wanted to do something very different from MMA and wrestling, simple as that. I'd done some FMA before and it was just a load of fun.

Switching martial arts is pretty normal and common. Don't sweat it.

3. Knee Rider

Knee Rider Valued Member Supporter