Guitar

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Shantari, Jul 13, 2005.

1. Shantari

Shantari Valued Member

yea yea, my cousin just brought me an acoustic guitar from mexico, and a friend let me borrow his electric guitar, haha, YEA, been practicing and i can already play a couple songs such as Smells like teen spirit, some of One by metallica, and a couple others, SELF TAUGHT IS THE BEST WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!! :woo: :woo: :woo:

2. Mister_Ball

Mister_Ball Just your average guy

Its really not lol. I thought that for like half a year and never went far, got a techer and by the end of the year i had got to a pretty good level, year after and i my teacher ran out of things to teach me, i dont care much for time signatures and how chords are played or all the millions of scales so i could have kept attending but decided to just save the money.

3. Prophet

Prophet ♥ H&F ♥

Im self tought. But then again, I tought myself the theory via google :p

4. Kwajman

Kwajman Penguin in paradise....

I was self taught though you need someone to ask for tips when you get to problems....

5. ThaiBxr

ThaiBxr Banned Banned

Self taught is the way to go for some people. I'm entirely self taught from tabs and have been playing for less than a year, however I can play a bunch of high level stuff... clapton, classical gas, etc. etc. Then again I know some people who are self taught and are in some serious need of lessons.

The progression I went along was...

- very basic picking
    - basic powerchords
    - basic powerchords and picking songs to get more comfortable moving around the fretboard.
    - basic chords... the staples like D, G, Em, A, Am, C, etc. etc.
    - learnt a few songs that mixed chords picking and powerchords.
    - bar chords.
    - started putting it together learning gradually more and more advanced songs.
    ( things like hammer ons, vibrato's, bends, etc. I just learnt along the way )
    - fingerpicking.