Greetings From Germany

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Satria Stuttgart, Oct 19, 2018.

1. Satria Stuttgart

Satria Stuttgart New Member

Hey guys,

My name is Ben, I am a teacher for Satria Fighting Arts in Stuttgart, Germany.

This is a video of my class

I hope you enjoy!

Best,

Ben

Monkey_Magic likes this.
  2. Nachi

Nachi Valued Member Supporter

That looks like quite an unusual and interesting art. I don't think I've ever even heard of it before.
    Nice introduction video!

Welcome! :)

3. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Welcome to MAP

Looks like a Pentjak Silat variant - is that the origin?

4. Satria Stuttgart

Thank you very much!

Yes it is a Silat variant, my teacher is Steve Benitez.
    Here he discusses our art:

Best,

Ben

5. Satria Stuttgart

Just saw that there is an older but much cooler video of Steve still online

Hope you enjoy:)

6. Monkey_Magic

Monkey_Magic Well-Known Member

Welcome Ben!

Satria looks very interesting and I look forward to reading more posts about it.

7. Satria Stuttgart

Thank you very much!

If you have any questions concerning Satria please ask, I am very happy to go into all the detaisl :)

Best,

Ben

8. Monkey_Magic

Monkey_Magic Well-Known Member

Thanks Ben. I’m curious about three things:
    - The stances seem very low. Please could you explain more about this?
    - How much weapons training is there?
    - What’s the relationship between Satria and yoga?

Many thanks!

9. Satria Stuttgart

Hey Monkey_Magic,
    Thanks for your interest in our style :)
    -In Silat you start your training on the ground and work yourself up, this gives you strong legs and hips which then allow you to move fluidly in low stances and also gives you stability. We try to stay both rooted and be agile at the same time.