Grading:Compulsory?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Rhea, Apr 25, 2008.

1. Rhea

Rhea Laser tag = NOT MA... Supporter

Ok, a question for those with a belt system, students and instructors.
    For instructors: How would you react to a student who wishes to study your art but not to grade at all. Or those who wish to stay at the level they are at, and not use the syllabus as their entire learning? (Assuming this is possible)
    For students: Do you feel your gradings are compulsory? Expected? Are you free to do as you wish, and is there anyone out there who doesn't care, hasn't chosen to test for yet another belt?

2. Cait

Cait da Bionic is BACK!

As an instructor, I have to say I'm fine with a student who doesn't want to grade. However (and I have had one or two before), I usually make sure to tell them that they're really not going to advance as much if they don't. This may sound harsh, but I'm not going to go out of my way to teach them advanced techniques, if they won't go out of their way to prove to me they've got the basics (which is all I feel gradings are really about - being able to demostrate a level of profficiency under pressure). But that said, I have no problem with them picking up what they can while in class.

As a student, I've always looked at gradings as a way to test myself more than anything. I get really nervous at them, and I figure if I can perform/demonstrate well in a circumstance I come close to panicking in, and remember what I need to remember, and be well-spoken.. well then, I'm doing pretty good.

3. pauli

pauli mr guillotine

for us, you don't know you're even being tested until about ten minutes before the end of class, when you start to figure out what's been going on all night...