Gracie Barra

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by Awakening, May 13, 2007.

1. Awakening

Awakening is on vacation

Forgive me if this is a silly/obvious question, but I'm a total BJJ newbie. Such a newbie in fact, that I haven't even started training! I've been looking around for some local schools, one of which is Gracie Barra. Would that be a good place to train? I'm looking for high calibur training...would that be a good place to go? If not, does anyone know any other good BJJ schools near Vancouver, BC?

2. Stevebjj

Stevebjj Grappling Dummy

Gracie Barra is a good name.

3. Atharel

Atharel Errant

Yeah, I've never heard anything but respect when the name Gracie Barra is mentioned.

4. Lekta

Lekta Super-Valued Power Member

If you want to learn true Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, go to Gracie Barra

5. Atharel

Atharel Errant

True Brazilian Jiu-jitsu? Gracie Barra is good, but I hope you're not implying they have some sort of monopoly on teaching "real" BJJ. I'd have to ask why there are so many champs who aren't associated with them.

6. Stevebjj

Stevebjj Grappling Dummy

Personally, I'd go check this school out: http://www.kelleesama.com/

I read a writeup about Liz Posener in NW Fightscene magazine, and then met her at the last BJJ/Sub wrestling tournament in Seattle. They don't teach BJJ, but seem to have a well rounded curriculum including pankration and muay thai among others. The guy who teaches there has numerous belts, and Liz (his wife and also an instructor there) is fighting at the next Smack Girl even in Japan later this month.

If I wanted to learn to fight, I'd definitely check them out!

7. Gufbal1981

Gufbal1981 waiting to train...

Gracie Barra is a well respected name.

8. Ghost Frog

Ghost Frog New Member

Gracie Barra is a big name in BJJ, but not the only one. You should check out as many schools as you can and choose the one that suits you best.

9. Alexander

Alexander Possibly insane.