Gloves...

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by leeless, Jun 4, 2004.

1. leeless

leeless Handshaker extraordinaire

Hi there...

I've been doing Kickboxing for a few months and I've decided to buy some gloves. I don't know the first thing about them and I'm thrown by all the different weights. can you guys explain things to me.

Thanks in advance...

2. Jax

Jax New Member

the higher the weight the bigger the gloves basicly, so a 16oz will be big and well padded, i use 10oz they still have good padding but also are light.

3. leeless

So it has nothing to do with hand size? What weight glove would you reccommend to a beginner like me?

4. rocky

rocky Valued Member

I use 10oz gloves too.this is the weight of competition gloves(same with boxing i think),so it's easier getting comfortable with 10oz from the start.If you have small hands wear hand wraps or maybe 8oz gloves.

5. HearWa

HearWa Ow, that hurt...

I usually try to wear a heavier set pair of gloves. Later when you spar with lighter gloves it will feel like your hands are floating in the air!

6. Scotty Dog

Scotty Dog www.myspace.com/elhig

I prefer most of my guy's to use 14-16 Oz in class, but due to being of small stature there are a couple that use 10Oz. Best thing to do is ask your coach & see what he recomends.

7. JohnnyX

JohnnyX Map Addict

Would I be wrong in thinking that MA clubs/instructors can source equipment for you? - Ask. Sometimes they have spare pairs lying around that students have left after class. (Beats me how they can do that!). Or even gloves that you can 'try before you buy'.

Presumably, there are other students at your club - Ask if you can try their Gloves on for a couple of minutes. That way you may be able to try different weights.

Most of all, your Instructor should be able to guide you.

Cheers. :)

8. Pepsi32123

Pepsi32123 New Member