getting sponsorship

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by roninmaster, Jan 1, 2014.

1. roninmaster

roninmaster be like water

So for the upcoming year i had the idea to attempt to get a sponsorship. I've been doing BJJ for 4 years now and I'll never know till I try.

I found some interesting articles on getting a sponsorship. Most of which said most companies didn't "require" you to win a lot of tournaments- only that you at least compete, and can argue why you wearing their stuff would be good, or what value you bring to the table of that company.

I'm posting out of curiosity if anyone on MAP has ever been a sponsored grappler, and how did you do it.

I compete at least 2-3 times a year, but do not have a very good comp record at the moment. Which is part of the reason I'm switching BJJ schools, I don't really have any matches I'd like to show them of me being "badass".However I'm known at every major BJJ school in my area ( they're aren't a large amount) because I dojo hop.

I also graduated from college in media arts and have done a number of MMA related pieces that could be used to help get the name out of their products which in turn brings more "value".

anymore pointers?

Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  2. righty

righty Valued Member

All the sponsored people I know of I have seen go for the promotional route. Basically if you are sponsored your job is to promote the company that you are representing. You do it by wearing their stuff to comps and training, but when you think about it that isn't a great promo as it's likely a bunch of guys will already be wearing their stuff on comp day anyway.

So yeah, promote yourself and the product outside of training and comps. The ones I've seen use facebook a huge amount and have used their networks to get lots of followers. E.g. have a personal or even an athlete page and post frequent updates along the lines of "Great training session today, I love training in my XX gi as it's so comfy".