General Technique help

Discussion in 'Silat' started by serakmurid, Jun 18, 2005.

1. serakmurid

serakmurid Valued Member

Selamat,
    I need help with a technique I'm trying to learn in the Pencak Silat art I'm studying. I guess I must be slow at this one because even though my instructors have helped me with it already, I still have trouble. The technique I am refering to is the Harimau back sweep. You crouch down and do a 360 degree sweep. I just can't seem to keep up the speed and momentum all the way around. Even though this is from Serak in a form called Jurusan Sepak, I know a lot of styles have this sweep, so I'm wondering if there are any key points to doing the beset correctly.
    Hormat to all,
    Mas Andrew Astle

2. Sgt_Major

Sgt_Major Ex Global Mod Supporter

Have you asked your Guru yet? They would be the best place to start. I personally dont use the technique, so cant help you there.

3. Kiai Carita

Kiai Carita Banned Banned

Mas Andrew, my understanding of the move you are asking about is that you crouch down with one leg extended (from a low kuda-kuda) before you do the sweep. If this is the move you mean and you find it hard to go 360 degrees, it might be because you a) don't use the momentum of your going down low to turn your hips around, or b) you are to weak around the lower back.

I suggest you try to sweep in one flow beginning from the moment you let gravity bring you to a squat with an extended leg, and concentrate on your sweeping heel. If this doesn't work forget the move for a while and drill alot of sempok-standing. Remember to sempok right down so that you sit on the floor. Keep backbone straight and concentrate on your puser (dan tian in tai chi) and go up-down-up-down 200 or so times a day... after a week try the sweep once more. Hope this helps.

Hormat,
    Kiai Carita.

4. Monyet Nakal

Monyet Nakal Valued Member

Mas Andrew,