For those interested in the Japanese Sword

Discussion in 'Weapon Resources' started by Dave Humm, Jan 3, 2006.

1. Dave Humm

Dave Humm Serving Queen and Country

Japanese Swords, ownership, care and responsibility. ​

I’d like to begin by explaining I am by no means an ‘expert’ or considered an ‘authority’ on any aspect of Nihonto (Japanese Sword) however, I am a student of Iaido and as such own and have been correctly taught how to care for, and act responsibly with swords of my own.

As an instructor within an aikido dojo, I incorporate a large portion of sword technique into everyday study, it isn’t uncommon therefore to see a minimum of three or four Nihonto within the dojo. I have been asked by students various questions relating to Nihonto which, has prompted this short article. I hope you find it informative and written from a grass roots perspective.

Important distinction: There are on the open market today ‘Japanese swords’ which are nothing more than wall hanging ornaments. Whilst they vaguely resemble a Japanese Sword, they are little more than a waste of money if one buys something of this low quality and expects to be able to use it for martial arts study. A blade made of 440 stainless steel is NOT suitable in any respect for Iai. In regards to this article, a “Nihonto” is a sword manufactured in Japan and is either of forged steel (Shinken) or it is an Iaito specifically manufactured for the study of Iaido. (These blades are made of Zink Alloy construction and do not carry a live edge)