First time trying jiu jitsu need advice

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by MindTricks, Sep 9, 2012.

1. MindTricks

MindTricks Valued Member

i have never done any martial arts before or much fighting. My stamina is poor i run out of breath in few meters... my life style is not active. I smoke, and like to drink on weekends ( can stop with drinking i only do it coz im bored ) smoking however will be hard but ill give it a go. I m very skinny but i do go to the gym 1-4 times a week. Haven't done much of it in past few months tho

im 25 years old btw

i was just wondering if this type of martial art is to hardcore for some one like me ? maybe i should prepare my self first and do some running or something to boost up my stamina. One lesson is like 1.5-2 hours i just dont want to collapse in the middle of it lol

any tips or advice would be much appreciated, thanks

2. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

What type of JJ is it?

Unless you have some underlying condition I wouldn't worry too much.

Fitness will come and a good Dojo/gym won't expect miracles from you in your first few weeks.

Probably wouldn't hurt to do something outside of class though.

3. Simon

Simon Moved on Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

Don't worrry sbout getting fit first. You will make some flexibility gains while martial arts training and you stamina will naturally increase as time goes on.

My advice is to go along and don't try to keep up with the senior students.

Make sure you remain hydrated. Sip throughout the day, don't leave it until the last minute. Also make sure you get a decent nights sleep.

Finally make sure you programme in rest days. Drop a gym session if you have to. Rest is so important.

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

4. MindTricks

MindTricks Valued Member

@ Dean Winchester

My friend told me its jiu jitsu and also mixed martial arts and ill be going there once or twice per week.

Thanks

@ Simon