Filipino Martial Arts in Melbourne

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by firsttimer, Feb 24, 2015.

1. firsttimer

firsttimer New Member

Hey guys,

This is my first time posting here. I have wanted to start a learning a Martial Art for a long time now, and after a lot of searching I have decided I really would like to try some Filipino Martial Art style, in particular Kali.

I'm a bartender, and I'm just tired of the continual routine that I'm stuck in, because I'm not really sure what I'm doing with my life; and I truly think that being able to train in a Martial art will smooth things out a little, and break up the week.

The only problem is that I know where to even start looking for an instructor. Does anyone know of anyone good in Melbourne who doesn't charge an absolutely exorbitant amount of money?

Thank you in advance!!

2. frownland

frownland 【ツ】

I train with Cacoy Doce Pares Melbourne. I can give you contact details if you're interested.

3. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Firsttimer,

One of the first things you need to know is that "kali" isn't a style. It's one of three equally generic terms for Filipino martial arts (alongside "eskrima" and "arnis"). In fact, almost nobody in the Philippines themselves uses the term. It's much more indicative of FMA's spread into the West.

Frownland mentioned Doce Pares. That's a style. (My primary style too, as it happens.) There are numerous FMA (Filipino martial arts) styles out there. I'd advise that you don't pay much heed to the terms "kali," "eskrima," and "arnis."

I've studied one of each. Inosanto Kali, Doce Pares Eskrima, and Modern Arnis. And the similarities far outweighed the differences in each instance.

A better question would be what about FMA appeals to you? In terms of weaponry, range, technique, etc. That's much better grounds for determing a specific style.