Fighting for the crowd?

Discussion in 'MMA' started by komuso, Sep 1, 2012.

1. komuso

komuso Valued Member

Hi all,

this is just a bit of a stray question, primarily directed at the folk that get to fight in front of crowds. I totally get that the overwhelming objective for fighters is to win. But are you also conscious of the 'entertainment' aspect of what is happening. I dont mean in the sort of very extreme WWF (its ok Hannibal I'm generalising...) sense, but in a more "well this will work AND look cool" way - the sort of things that Ali used to do during fights springs to mind as an example.

The reason that I ask is that I am a musician, and it is definately something we pretty much all do, so long as it doesn't interfere with the ultimate goal.

Thanks

paul

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

My hackles were up and down again very quickly then! :)

3. John R. Gambit

John R. Gambit The 'Rona Wrangler

Great question. I'm not an MMA fighter, but Miller certainly comes to mind in the showmanship department.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSCKQFOPivg&feature=related"]Jason "Mayhem" Miller Entrance @ Strikeforce - YouTube[/ame]

4. Kurtka Jerker

Kurtka Jerker Valued Member

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u7XbzXBB1uc"]Genki Sudo Highlight - YouTube[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-LMmb1Nrsg"]Ikuhisa Minowa highlight by Damien - YouTube[/ame]

You get lots of Japanese Catch wrestlers from Japanese pro wrestling who like to put on a show. I always thought Pride really highlighted the individuals more than UFC does/did.

5. Gripfighter

Gripfighter Sub Seeker

I once read an article that said the biggest difference between American and Japanese MMA is that in Japan its more important to give a good account of yourself than it is to win.

6. komuso

komuso Valued Member

What about in the UK Tout?

7. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award