Fear of getting hurt badly in Kickboxing-is Judo/Wrestling more my style?

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by ronki23, Mar 22, 2011.

1. ronki23

ronki23 Valued Member

Hey guys, i've done this question/similar questions several times now-basically i've been kickboxing on-and-off since 2005-the kickboxing is based on Lau Gar Kuen and we do both sport karate (points) and kickboxing (kicks above waist/no knees or elbows).
    When I fight teens and women i'm alright but when I fight grown men i'm afraid of getting hurt badly. I was fighting with faceshield until last February-then I fought without it until June-I won a sport karate match in the competition in May but in June I was ready/confident and thought it'd be like in the movies that i'd come back with a gold in both sport karate and kickboxing-alas I lost 2 matches. After taking time off in the summer I returned in September (with faceshield due to lack of confidence) and won in sport karate but still no gold!

I have only had my nose bleed once and it was 7 weeks ago when I got kicked there.I am fighting without faceshield again after wearing it to rehab my poor face.

My fears

* Getting my nose broken-I subconsciously turn my head away even though it's bad to do that!!! Is there any exercises that keep me facing opponent?
    Still keep turning even though people say it's not good to!

* Getting ribs broken-rib shots hurt but i've never had them bruised or broken.

* Getting comatosed/killed when K.O'd-I only do light contact but when I get hit with a heavy punch, it rattles my brain-I was told heavy punches don't K.O you but only wear you down-I still back off though :(

* I also back off if I get hit with a stinging kick to the leg/back in sparring and my opponent doesn't wear foot protection!