Eyeglasses (redux)

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by querist, Jul 1, 2011.

1. querist

querist MAP Resident Linguist?

Hello everyone,

I've read through the old threads on eyeglasses and they're pretty old, so I wanted to resurrect the subject for my own sake as well as anyone else.

I'm very farsighted and have astigmatism, and the idea of putting things onto my eyeball just creeps me out, so I'd really like to find a way to obtain prescription eyewear that would work in a high-contact situation. I just started studying two months ago, but watching the most senior students prepare for their next tests has me worried a bit about all of this.

I am very farsighted, so without my glasses, a person at close combat range (think Wing Chun) is blurry. I also trip on things in an unfamiliar setting without my glasses (which I normally wear all the time).

I want to stick with eyewear, so I'd appreciate any ideas or comments from folks to still use glasses and train in the martial arts.

Thanks!

2. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

If you're not willing to wear contacts the only thing I can think of are training goggles although they don't seem the best thing to wear for full contact sparring. If you won't put things in your eyes you're going to have something in front of your eyes (glasses, goggles, whatever) that will get probably get driven into you when you take a hit

3. Blade96

Blade96 shotokan karateka

im nearsighted so it gives me an advantage when sparring, up close I see quite well.

I understand about putting things in yer eyes, i wore contact for about ten years then stopped because they are a pain with glasses ya just slip them on easy when you need em. and the cleaning is easier too. I just carry them and slip them on when i need them.

4. Ben Gash CLF

Ben Gash CLF Valued Member