Encouragement to me, and other dissabled people!

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by Joshua Powell, Jul 11, 2005.

1. Joshua Powell

Joshua Powell A white knight

I was born with the mental dissability called Cerebral palsy...I now have my second degree black belt in a martial art called Kuk Sool Won. It is a great encouragement to see other people with dissabilities doing martial arts which I think most people would think would be beyond our capabilities. I am interested in getting to know you guys as this is my first time seeing a website like this, and seeing other dissabled students as well so if you do respond to this thread please include your email, and name but only if you want to. I don't want to make anybody feel uncomfortable.

Thank you!

2. Saz

Saz Nerd Admin

Hi Joshua, welcome to the site :)

I encourage people to respond to this thread, but unfortunatley putting your email address in posts isn't allowed as it can lead to misuse or spam. Feel free to PM each other your email addresses should you want to speak off the forums though.

There's a thread here you might like to have a read through where we all introduced ourselves http://www.martialartsplanet.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8138

Cheers
    Kgirl

3. Davey Bones

Davey Bones New Member

Welcome aboard, Joshua. My school has a BB in a wheelchair, and many other on this forum have experience in training with disabilities. Check out this forum, I think you'll find a lot of support and a lot of inspiration and comraderie :)

4. gojuman

gojuman Valued Member

I was teaching a weapon seminar last night and one young lady in my escrima group has down syndrome. I was a little concerned at first, but she was able to do everything we were working on very well. In fact for one excercise we tried to throw the weapon at a pole some 30 feet away. She was the only one in the group that hit it.