Does anyone here practice yi quan?

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by 23rdwave, Feb 23, 2015.

1. 23rdwave

23rdwave Valued Member

I study Han Shi Yi Quan in Sacramento, California with Martin Wong. Martin is a former student of Sam Tam (yi quan) and Henry Look (guang ping yang taiji, hsing i, ba gua). I studied taiji and hsing i with Henry until I came to Martin 16 months ago.

Here are some videos of what we do.
    [ame]https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MYh8_LpVB04[/ame]
    [ame]https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sJiWQ8qVA3c[/ame]
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=PL3...&v=S3PCtMV-SWI
    [ame]https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=aRzWxZie6w0[/ame]
    [ame]https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WWIaty7um8g[/ame]
    [ame]https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=uOEpz7WOM7U[/ame]

How do you train your yi quan?

Nick

2. runcai

runcai Valued Member

Yip Heising was a student of Hon Sing Yuen (Han Xing Yuan) the brother of Han Xing Qiao:

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojK8zZO4tw4"]Master Yip Yi-Quan - YouTube[/ame]

An old friend passed away a few years ago.

3. 23rdwave

23rdwave Valued Member

Thank you for the video. Sorry for your loss.

4. runcai

runcai Valued Member

From wiki:

'Wang Xiang Zhai, the creator of Yiquan, made a public statement regarding Wu Yihui in 1928 saying, "I have traveled across the country in research, engaging over a thousand people in martial combat, there have been only 2.5 people I could not defeat, namely Hunan's Xie Tie Fu, Fujian's Fang Yi Zhuang and Shanghai's Wu Yihui."

Wang Xiang Zhai and Wu Yihui were known to be close friends. When Wu started teaching Liuhebafa Wang instructed 4 of his students to study under Wu. They were: Han Xing Qiao, Zhang Chang Xin, Zhao Dao Xin, and Gao Zhen Dong. These 4 students later became known as the "4 Diamond Warriors" of Yichuan.'