Disappointed with Thai boxing

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by 8limbs38112, Sep 17, 2014.

1. 8limbs38112

8limbs38112 Valued Member

I've been training thai boxing started at for about half a month now, and I must say I'm a tad bit disappointed. I may just feel this way because I'm a rookie martial artist, but it honestly feels more like a fitness class then a boxing class. The reason I say that is because I occassionally get corrected on form and other things by other students but it is rare and the instructor almost never critiques my technique or corrects me. The most I've been told is to keep my chin down by the instructor. Do I just need to stick to it longer, or is it time to change schools.

The school has good credentials, but when I'm in class, I don't feel like I'm getting anything more than an intense work out. It feels like if I do improve it will be very slow. I do need the work out because I'm trying to lose weight, but I want to learn a martial art at the same time. They do spar, but we haven't sparred in the 2 weeks or so I've been there, possibly because of new students. So far in class we have been shadow boxing for the first half of class, then hitting the bags the second half of class. Every now and then there will be something new thrown in. Like we hit the pads one day, and practiced dodging punches while our partner threw a jab. If I'm just going to get some excersize I think fitness boxing would probably be cheaper

What do you think MAP?

Last edited: Sep 17, 2014
  2. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

it's been half a month, dude, give it time. you need to get used to the motions before you try to correct them, and he may simply think that you don't need any specific corrections at this specific point in time, or that giving you a ton of things to do this early may be detrimental.

3. 8limbs38112

Thanks bruh. I will stick to it.

4. Kave

Kave Lunatic