Differences in ITF

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by LewisHolder, Dec 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LewisHolder

LewisHolder Valued Member

Hello all, I'm new to Tae Kwon Do. I have read the ITF style has 3 different organisations claiming to be ITF. What are their differences? Which is the true ITF?

2. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

None is the true ITF, not since Gen. Choi died anyway.

Besides, you should look at the individual club and instructor rather than the organisation. (Most tend to break away, anyway!)

3. LewisHolder

What do you mean by that?

4. Earl Weiss

Earl Weiss Valued Member

Perhaps instead of none being the true ITF, Many are true ITF. As General Choi said during his last appearances he had trained many who could succeed him.

Briefly, in late 2001 General Choi's son split from him taking a surprisingly (at least to me) large contingent with him creating ITF #2. Since that time, at least as far as North America is concerned, many left him, some going their own way and some large factions going to what I will designate ITF #1 below.

Following General Choi's death in June of 2002 there was a memorial service in North Korea in Spetember. After the assemblage left the service they were asked to return to the room where the service took place and the banner for the service was replaced by a banner saying it was an ITF special congress. Lack of advance noice was a violaion of the ITF constitution. Chang ung entered the room and was greeted by applause. An announcement then followed that by this applause Chang Ung was elected the new ITF president.