Dialects.

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by boards, Nov 17, 2011.

1. boards

boards Its all in the reflexes!

I'm currently studying Italian and having an Italian background (on dads side) my relatives speak a dialect that is quite different to standard Italian. I found it interesting that even though they learn standard Italian and the dialect is not formally taught at all they still speak dialect at home.

It got me wondering whether any countries still teach the local dialects at school rather than/along side the standard national language? Given that India has lots of semi official languages it could be one, but I would be curious to see if anyone on here learnt a dialect of the main language at school.

I guess this applies to english as well. Scots english is IIRC is either a dialect or seperate language so do you learn it at school or is it all taught at home? Are newspapers written in the dialect form or in the national form.

And lastly do you think that dialects should be taught at school so that they do not dissapear, in the same way that the UK teaches Welsh (I think).

2. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

Diallects are learned by talking to other people with the dialect, rather than taught at a school. In France, for example, there is an official version of the language which is taught, but which is usually spoken in varying dialects.

I'd be very surprised if anywhere at all does this. There's no need since dialects emerge from local populations adapting the language to their own needs and tastes.

Probably doesn't count, but I was actually taught southern Parisian French rather than the official version - mainly because my teacher was from South Paris.