Demo time!

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by E-Rocker, Jan 5, 2013.

1. E-Rocker

E-Rocker Valued Member

So one of my co-workers has asked me to do a Kali demo for a cultural event (That's what I get for wearing my MA sweatshirt to work, LOL). I'm actually pretty excited about it, but I'm also really nervous and don't really now where to start, as I've never done this type of demo before. She asked for about ten minutes, and it will probably be just me and one other FMA friend doing the demo. I know that realistically, after almost ten years of Kali, I know enough information to fill up ten minutes, but it still seems like a really long time...

I'm thinking two important things to find out are how much space we'll have and what kind of floor. If it's a lot of space, we could include some running sets, whereas if it's a tight space, not so much, and if it's carpet I'll include some takedowns, but if it's concrete, probably not.

All thoughts, feedback, and suggestions are appreciated.

btw, the demo's not until May, so I have plenty of prep time, but I want to get started now.

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Maybe keep it really simple and show 5 basic angles, the disarms off of those angles and the empty hand equivalent.

Maybe show the speed, grace and power of the single stick.

10 minutes will fly by, so less is probably more.

Good luck.

3. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

Nothing makes people happier than seeing the red stuff, use real knives. (Totally joking, don't do this).

4. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter