Contact Lenses

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by craigwarren, Jul 11, 2003.

1. craigwarren

craigwarren Valued Member

I was wondering if anyone here has ever trained wearing contact lenses. I have been thinking of getting contact lenses instead of my glasses, but im unsure if i would if i had to take them out for things like Tae kwon do.

Anyone with experiances or ideas, i'd be greatful.

2. Rob_InDaUk

Rob_InDaUk Grandmaster Sandwich

I am not sure, but I think I read somewhere that Bruce Lee wore contact lenses, so yes I imagine you can wear while training. I'm not sure though..

Rob

3. Brad Ellin

Brad Ellin Baba

I wear glasses. And contacts. I always wear contacts to class and have never had a problem. Just make sure that you get them fitted properly and wear them a month before going to class. That way you know if they will be comfortable or not.

4. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

I've been wearing contacts in and out of training for the last 20 years.

My current ones are daily disposals so when one pops outy in training, and they do, it no problem - I have a stash of spares.

5. Yin and Yang

Yin and Yang Valued Member

My friend has contacts and I wear glasses. I just take off my glasses, but yesterday when my friend got poked in the eye, it was not too pretty of a picture. Just protect you eyes and you should be fine. But like said before, make sure they are comfortable before you go to class.
    -X

6. craigwarren

Will there not be any problems if you take a blow to the head in sparring or anything?

7. YODA

Mine tend to pop out sometiems when I get hit in sparring - as I said I have loads of spares so it doesn't bother me.

8. Brad Ellin

Brad Ellin Baba

I haven't had any pop out, yet. Worse problem has been dry eyes. But I have a bottle of drops for that.

9. JediMasterChris

JediMasterChris Columbo