confused about kempo.....

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by kryptonite, Sep 3, 2004.

1. kryptonite

kryptonite New Member

I've been trying to grasp what kempo (kenpo) is and I thought I found the answer. But then I think I've been wrong. I just started training in 'kempo' and from what I've read, it just seems like it's a blend of other martial arts. It seems more like an ecletic art (though I could be wrong). Before I joined the school, I asked the chief instructor if they taught a specific style (ie shorinji, ryukyu kempo, etc.) but he said no. He told me there is 'no stlye'....kempo is just kempo. Now I'm wondering, maybe he was referring to the 'original' kempo before people started to add their own components into the art. But what was the original kempo like? Also, I heard that kempo is the Japanese term for Chuan Fa. Is chuan fa a particular style? Or is it a term that means something like 'martial arts'?

2. Z-Rex

Z-Rex Valued Member

Ask him what's his lineage. That sort of comment makes me wonder...

Kenpo is the Japanese word that means Chuan Fa (chinese). The word, not necessarily the styles. Rough translation of both is fist law/method.

Now there are technically two broad branches of Kenpo (over simplified). The traditional Japanese or Okinawan and the Modern that stems from Chow or in some cases Mitose. If he uses the term Kempo Karate, then most likely he is from the Chow tree.

Anyways, ask him questions about it. Especially about the lineage. Such as who taught him and who taught his instructor.

3. Colin Linz

Colin Linz Valued Member

Kempo is the Japanese translation of Chuan Fa, and literally means fist method, or fist law. There are a number of styles. American Kempo seems to be big in America and the west in general, although there are a number of other styles, some related and others not. From my perspective I see a great difference in what they teach, and how they are taught.