Clinch

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by red dub, Oct 23, 2021.

1. red dub

red dub New Member

I have been practicing martial arts since 1993. I am showing my theory with a stick against a stick but it works with any weapon or empty hands.

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Hi red dub. Welcome to MAP.

What is your experience with weapons, particularly the stick?

You say this is your theory, but what experience is that based on?

3. red dub

red dub New Member

I started learning Silat and Escrima in 1993. In 2008 I began study of Taiji, Bagua, Xingyi. My specialty is actually the double sword. I was just showing how clinching happens. With the double sword, not the same way as with some other weapons. I made that video in one take with no rehearsal. I practice Qigong every day and often practice a bit with stick, 5 foot staff, daggers or T-shirt whip, alternating with empty hands. I like to practice a mix of Taiji and Bagua mostly, with a Silat flavor. I owe my knowledge of stick to the Escrima element. We often used the stick for drills.

4. Simon

I don't think you have any eskrima knowledge at all.

What you describe doesn't look like any eskrima I've seen or practiced and not only that your movement lets you down.

With the bagua / Tai Chi, again your movement doesn't look like someone with 13 years experience.

Some internal Martial Art - YouTube

What exactly is your experience?

5. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

Greetings and welcome to MAP.

You complain about long range techniques in this video, but I don't see any. I see some spinning around for no reason, with no real striking - just holding the stick.