Chinese Martial Art?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by ShadowWarrior, Nov 25, 2005.

1. ShadowWarrior

ShadowWarrior Valued Member

Hi,
    Im currently a Taekwon-Do student but i would like to have a go at a Chinese Martial Art. I know there are lots of different kinds and i want your opinion on which is best. I want something that has forms/patterns and flying kicks or aerial moves.. I also wouldn't mind doing something with weapons. Can you please help me explain which art is right for me.
    Of course this will all depend on what club/s i can find in my area.

Thanks very much,
    Ryan

2. CraigLeeJKD

CraigLeeJKD formerly 'into_the_abyss'

Why do you want forms/patterns, flying kicks etc? Is it just for the image? Because if so then go for something like Shaolin kung fu (which I have nothing against, I think it's a wonderful art but I personally think forms and fancy flying kicks are just gonna lead to you getting killed if you are attacked on the street).
    However, if you want something that would prove useful in a street situation, then Wing Chun would probably be your best bet.

peace

3. Davey Bones

Davey Bones New Member

XMA. You're not going to find what you're looking for at a real Chinese MA school. Go do "Xtreme Martial Arts". OK, maybe WuShu, but that's not a real MA, either.

But those would be your two choices.

4. Ziro

Ziro Valued Member

Eh? What are you talking about. Shaolin martial arts, aren't about all flying kicks. There are lots of styles, which look really crap, and don't have fancy flying kicks. Unfortunately, the faux shaolin monks, for example the "monks" from the wheel of life, have given people a wrong preception of Shaolin Martial Arts.

I think you also, misunderstand the importances of forms. If you think they'll lead to you being beaten. But thats a different post, altogether.

I assume, you do Wing Chun. If you do, surely you will be practicing principles, developed within the Shaolin arts.