[China] Learning the language

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by G.Razvan, Jul 7, 2011.

1. G.Razvan

G.Razvan Valued Member

Hello. Since I started MA I studied about it's culture, origine and a little bit of philosophy. And now...I want to learn Chinese. I've already bought a book but I want to know if there (on internet) are any free tutorials.

Thank you :)

2. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

Rosetta Stone?

3. AndrewTheAndroid

AndrewTheAndroid A hero for fun.

youtube.com

4. Osu,

Let me be clear: Nobody sane will want to learn Chinese... it is too bloody hard!
    Maybe you want to know Chinese, and are ready to pay the price?

But I doubt it as you are looking for freebies.

Nevertheless, here is my advice, and I don't give a Chinese rat's f#ck if you like it or not:

Once you believe you have made up your mind to go ahead with your crazy plan, think long and hard once again:
    ------- There is so much BS going around and being said in China, that I very very often regret I understand and speak the language!
    Once you know it, it is impossible to unlearn it and you have to live, understanding whatever crap is being said around you!!!

Pay the price:
    - You will either **** away 3 years drinking beer, screwing locals and occasionally go to univ to learn in China...
    - or hire a personal teacher to give you lessons one on one --- you'll need around 300 hours + some time in China.

That will get you to a point of relatively fluent usual conversation...
    learning to read and write in on you and on top of the above!

Best of luck!
    Osu!

5. Black41

Black41 Click Clack Blaow!

I tried Rosetta Stone, they may be more useful for Latin languages but I thought it was useless for Chinese. Paid $300 for it and tossed it. Right now I learn through videos for free:

http://english.cntv.cn/learnchinese/