Chi Kung

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by Radok, Dec 9, 2003.

1. Radok

Radok Love myself better than U

I was surprised to see this thread hasn't been done yet. Who all out there does some form of chi kung? I have just started and it seems to help with energy levels. My forms also feel stronger every time I do them.

2. Syd

Syd 1/2 Dan in Origami

Errr check the KI thread...

3. Radok

Radok Love myself better than U

I did... what about it?

4. Syd

Syd 1/2 Dan in Origami

It is a discussion of Qi...

5. imawimp

imawimp New Member

A discussion of chi, and a discussion on Chi Kung are not neccesarily the same thing :)

Ive been doing chi kung somewhat daily for about 6 months. I havent noticed any real difference in my forms, but I have noticed I feel a bit more alert afterwards.

6. hwardo

hwardo Drunken Monkey

I have to agree that the the ki thread did not turn out to be the friendliest place for a chi gung practitioner.
    I practice a taoist water method gung that consists of a standing nei gung meditation, followed by cloud hands. I try to do it daily, and it has taken about a year to clear the major blockages I can feel as of right now (I'm sure that there are plenty more.) My body allignment has improved immensely, and I am just now becoming significantly more sensitive during push hands.

7. nzric

nzric on lookout for bad guys

My teacher gave me some excellent advice:

"qigong is excellent for your health and you should always do it whenever you practice your form. But make sure you do a grounding qigong just before you finish, otherwise you'll be spaced out and you'll end up walking in front of a bus."

I know it's a good health exercise, but there should be a warning on the label for 'recreational qigong users'

8. Paratus

Paratus aka Mr. Rue

What exactly is Chi Kung, I'm curious because I think I've seen it before but I'm not sure.....

9. nzric