Chen Style better for fighting???

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by surrealism, Oct 2, 2009.

1. surrealism

surrealism trying to fit in

I have been told that if you wanna learn how to fight with Tai Chi that you should go to Chen style TCC. I was wondering why that is. I have been doing Yang Style for 4 years now and pretty familiar with how it is used martially. BUt what make Chen style better. I know very little about other styles.

Is Chen style better then Yang or is it all a matter of preference in the end?

the reason i ask this is because i found a place here to do Chen Style.

thanks in advance

2. cheesypeas

cheesypeas Moved on

It's less about the style of TaiJiQuan than the teacher, ime.

Most Yang style schools/teachers do not tend to explore the martial side, whereas a lot more Chen schools/teachers do.

TaiJiQUan is TaiJiQuan.

There are brilliant and rubbish teachers in all styles.

The best thing for you to do would be to try a taster class at the Chen school, as any school of repute will always offer a free trial lesson. There are differences in the styles as you know, so only by trying different ones will you know which is right for you. :)

Good luck, I hope you find your path.

3. surrealism

thanks Red

I was looking at some Chen styles on you tube and noticed they seem to be rather abstract movements. Like i can't tell if what they are doing in an arm bar or push. The Yang style i do you can see the application with in the form, punch here, push here, throw here.

Now I am not saying my Yang is better then their Chen.

Right now I am just not feeling the school i currently go to now. We don't push hands there and that is something i really want to do. I think we don't do push hands cause we have an 88 two person form. But that's just a guess, i have not asked why we don't do push hands.

Last edited: Oct 2, 2009
  4. cheesypeas

cheesypeas Moved on