chain/nunchaks

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by johnson, Jul 29, 2003.

1. johnson

johnson Valued Member

we train these as part of our jj syllabus - but not particularly deeply.
    my experience of them is that they are great for impressing but the moment they hit something they spin wildly out of controll!!

I keep cracking myself with them !!
    Nunchaku quite good as a baton weapon, and along with the chain good for trapping to gain extra leverage.

wondered what other folks experiences were like??

2. BlackBeltCookie

BlackBeltCookie New Member

I've used nunchukkas over the years but only self-taught. I started out using the foam practice set. Just as well 'cos I kept hitting myself around the back of the head!!! :(

I agree that they do look impressive when you're flailing them around, but are most lethal when tucked under your arm ready to strike. I suggest you practice striking a piece of wood (padded preferably to protect them from any damage) With practice, you can learn to control them and return them under your arm or whichever position you prefer.

All good fun!!

3. wayofthedragon

wayofthedragon The Defender

I own a pair of nunchuckus. Just to own'em really. I taught myself what I know about them being that I had them for a while. You you better believe I got my share of knots upside my head:(

4. johnson

johnson Valued Member

chained/flexible weapons

if you can really use a chained weapon with preplanned combinations and techniques then im sure it is very powerful.
    In the nunchak you give speed to a moving piece of wood, with a chain you give speed to the end section which whiplashes on impact. You could do the same for a belt, towel, dog chain........

The strikes are very hard to control though.........

The nunchak strike from under the armpit for me is about the most stable.