Celebration of increased "tolerance" in martial artists is not a positive thing.

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Mr. Tickles, Dec 22, 2021.

1. Mr. Tickles

Mr. Tickles Banned Banned

"The more you train, the more you tolerate."

As someone who has a long history of being bullied and disregarded in my life, abused for valuing my individuality and integrity.. and as someone who trains.. this statement disgusts me.

So, lemme get this straight. Because I train, that means I'll have to put on even more of a "mask" than I already do? And for what? "Humility?" "Tradition?" What's the excuse?

I train so that I can eventually see the day where I no longer need to be afraid of being myself with people, and can confidently NOT tolerate nonsense.

"The best self-defense is a pair of running shoes."

No. I've been running away and backing down out of necessity for the past 24 years of my life, and I'm telling you right now that it didn't "teach" me anything positive. It didn't "humble" me. It didn't "discipline" me or whatever you're gonna say.

Obviously if the other "person" has a knife or a gun then it's a different story. But uhh.. newsflash: we currently live in a "sophisticated" world where nobody actually prepares for violence. They just posture.

This is part of why content creators like "Fight Science" drove me to the point where I had to block them.

"An untrained person is actually MORE dangerous and here's wh-"

Shut up. Seriously. Peace-lover types annoy me. Has anyone kicked his rear yet on video? Because if so, it would do my sanity a lot of good to see it lol.

That sort of mentality makes me sick. "Real martial artists" back down and let people treat them like crap? Seriously?

We only have one life.. and a very limited time on this planet. You're telling me that you'd rather spend it shying away from conflict, getting in your own way, because you have "principals?" Get out of my face. ‍♂️