can you guys recommend any good books on Judo?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Chr9is, Nov 1, 2005.

1. Chr9is

Chr9is New Member

Hi, i have some experience with TKD, and would like to supplement that with some training in Judo. I was wondering if any of you guysd would be able to recommend a book that shows the basic philosophy and perhaps a few basic techniques behind Judo? thanks.

2. Goju

Goju Yellow Belt

Sorry to post this, I am sure we're all aware of it, but I'm going to say it anyway. I'm not going to say you can't learn ma from books because although I feel you can't, others would disagree. Grappling arts however, must be trained either in a class or with training partners, you cannot properly learn a grappling art without a training partner. So you'll probably find a book, but make sure you know someone who's willing to learn it with you.

3. Chr9is

Chr9is New Member

Ahh yes i am aware that i would need a partner to train with, fortunatly many of my friends are also martial artist's, and they would gladly assist me =-D. The reason i am asking for a good book is because my parents cannot afford Judo classes for me.

4. smiff

smiff Valued Member

mmm i would reccommend 'The A-Z of Judo' by Syd Hoare ( 8th Dan ).

Its a very good book, with almost every throw, armlock, and strangle. He also lists leg-leglocks and few other techniques now forbidden by modern judo rules.
    all the techniques are clearly demonstrated by olympic silver medalist Ray Stevens.
    Class booklearnt loads from it

Luke

5. shoto-kali

shoto-kali The Chosen One

where's your location? maybe somebody from this forum/site can help you ... like in my case, im taking jujitsu/judo class for only $35 for 6-7weeks, 2xper week ($2.50/training) and if you still cant afford this they usually look for somebody to sponsor you.

6. Goju

Goju Yellow Belt