Can hard work/fitness make up for lack of experience?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by AndrewTheAndroid, Oct 22, 2017.

1. AndrewTheAndroid

AndrewTheAndroid A hero for fun.

I plan on competing in MMA next year, but considering I'm a beginner I think my best chance is to get my fitness up as much as possible in addition to improving my technique. A year training in martial arts is not a lot, but a year of training physical attributes (and eating healthy) can show a lot of improvement.

They say you need 10000 hrs to become an expert in any field. At 8 hours a day that can be done in about 3.5 years. Guess I better get to work!

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Oh god yeah. Cardio is a real killer. If you get someone else and it's their first fight, you can win on cardio. My friend is an international level judo player and he got flash KO'do in he first ten seconds of his MMA debut. He woke up and continued to fight. Won a splot decision.

Dead_pool and axelb like this.
  3. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

The ongoing battle of your self improvement :D

Make sure you don't sway too far from the MMA training, and any fitness training doesn't impact your MA training (too sore/tired to train).

I would say any fitness you do work on it's about 60-70% anaerobic work and the other part (40-30 %) aerobic.

4. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Fitness will help no doubt, but if it's a properly matched bout, you shouldn't be playing catch up too much.

axelb likes this.
  5. Knee Rider

Knee Rider Valued Member Supporter

Being better condition will also help your training: you'll get higher quality output for more reps/time and generally have higher quality and quantity of work.

Dead_pool likes this.
  6. icefield

icefield Valued Member