Calorie counting in the long run

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Victoria, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Victoria

Victoria Pretzel In Training

While frantically adding up every single gram of fat, carb, and protein in my tuna salad earlier, then working out how much would be in each serving, I thought - do I really want to be doing this for the rest of my life?! The thought is horrifying.

Then I thought, is there even any need?

If I was a professional athlete then at certain times I'd consider it necessary. If I had a goal that required strict fat/carb/protein/calorie counting, I might still consider it necessary during that time.

If you're just starting to take control of your diet and fitness then I think yes, it is necessary. As some of you know, it can be quite an eye opener when you first type your diet into fitday.com. But in time you'll get a good feel for food content, for what you need to eat and when. At this point, is it really necessary to continue monitoring every single calorie and where it's come from?

I think it's personal choice. I've been counting protein carbs and fat now for so long that even if I do record every single calorie, it's not far off what I've already worked out subconsciously through the day. So for the next few weeks I'm not going to record my food/drink intake, and see how I do.

What does everyone else think, is it really necessary to monitor your every calorie in the long run?

2. narcsarge

narcsarge Masticated Whey

As you say Vic, if you're a professional athlete and weight/size matter, then absolutely. No competitive Bodybuilder could compete successfully w/out that sort of information. People that have to meet weight categories may need it as well. For those of us that are living a healthy lifestyle and training, I don't think we need to know every nano-gram that goes into our mouth.