Business side of running a "Won " school?

Discussion in 'Kuk Sool' started by CriticalDog, Sep 27, 2011.

1. CriticalDog

CriticalDog Valued Member

When I was a KSW student, there was no "franchise", but there was also much more autonomy in running a school.

I paid a monthly due for a while, but my wife eventually moved into being "secretary" for the school, answering phones, doing paperwork and all that good stuff. This led to my training being free.

There was at least one other student with a similar deal, wherein he cleaned the school (washed windows/mirrors, did the floor, wiped down mats, polished trophies, etc) in exchange for training.

Now, it seems like much more of the costs are funneled through Tomball. So of course, at least in Sacramento it seems that cost of KSW training has doubled in the 13 years or so I've been out of the game.

2. SsangKall

SsangKall Valued Member

for the same price, you can train with(more like around at best) uriah faber in sac! or the retired kickboxing champ dave marinoble!

overhead is a pain, though...
    problem is, the rent in sac should be cheap. the real estate certainly is.

3. CriticalDog

Oh, I know.

My problem is twofold:

1- I no longer live in Sac, at all. In fact, there is no Kuk Sool within a 3 hour drive of where I live, and the one class (I think out of a rec center) that is within that 3 hour window never got back to me on their schedule.

2- I love MMA, and Faber is amazing (and very very humble, according to some of my friends who have met him) but I love Kuk Sool. Until life kicked me in the chops, my sole goal in life was to get my 2nd degree, and open my own school. Now, at best I can get back in shape and relearn (with the help of my book, and youtube) my stuff.

But yes, Sac's real estate market, especially for business, is a joke.

4. Xanth

Xanth Valued Member

I'm in the same boat as you, where are you located ?

5. CriticalDog