Bushi-Ryu Karate Jitsu

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Vicarious, Dec 6, 2010.

1. Vicarious

Vicarious Valued Member

Just wondering whether anyone has had experience of Bushi-Ryu Karate Jitsu? I have done some Jitsu and am currently in London. I found this style based in Wandsworth but can find no information! Worth going?

2. Nojon

Nojon Tha mo bhàta-foluaimein

3. Vicarious

Vicarious Valued Member

Thanks. OK I found that, none of those tell me anything about the style. I was wondering whether anyone had an opinion about what they did!

4. Aegis

Aegis River Guardian Admin Supporter

5. Nojon

Nojon Tha mo bhàta-foluaimein

Mine is more of a post war "google-do", coming from the "google-jutsu", it is more sport oriented, but not yet taught in the universities.

6. Mike Flanagan

Mike Flanagan Valued Member

I have no prior knowledge of this club and there's so little information on the websites that Aegis listed, so its difficult to draw any reliable conclusions. 3 things however caught my eye...

1. The only prior experience or qualifications that we know the instructors have is that they learnt and taught GKR Karate. Without wishing to open up the whole debate about GKR Karate, its fair to say that the quality of GKR instructors is / has been extremely variable. Less than 10 years ago it was quite common for GKR instructors to have 2 years, 1 year, or even less training time under their belt.

At its very very best GKR is solid traditional but unsophisticated kicky punch karate, at its worst it is the worst karate on the planet. I have no way of knowing where on the spectrum these 2 teachers are.

2. Classes are limited to 1 hour, at £6 a go. That sounds a bit expensive to me, although I appreciate it is in London so that's probably going to force prices up a bit. But I never warm to classes an hour long. You do a warm-up and some exercise, how much time do you have left for actual karate?