blending kenpo with other striking styles

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by Batmanb, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Batmanb

Batmanb Valued Member

Hi everyone. I am looking for advice on mixing kenpo with wing chun,or other styles that would complement it. I have some experience in Japanese ju jitsu

Last edited: Aug 20, 2011
  2. Rebel Wado

Rebel Wado Valued Member

Any particular school of kenpo?

3. Batmanb

Batmanb Valued Member

EPK preferably. Open to all styles.

4. KempoFist

KempoFist Attention Whore

That's like mixing Pepsi with Dr. Pepper. You're still gonna be drinking soda at the end of the day. WC has a lot of the same flawed striking concepts Kenpo can be known for, most notably the importance of the "trapping range" which in reality lasts a mere fraction of a moment in a real fight.

If you wanna mix it up to broaden your striking foundation, take up boxing.

5. Batmanb

Batmanb Valued Member

Did not know that. Would think each other strength would cover the weakness. The kenpo for mid-range and wing chun for close quarters.

6. Batmanb

Batmanb Valued Member

Lol, over 40 views come on guy chime in.

7. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Boxing by far will be the best option - there is no room for theory that does not hold water in the art

8. Rebel Wado

Rebel Wado Valued Member

Well Ed Parker Kenpo can be good. I like the focus on combat principles but not so much the large number of techniques in the system because I have heard of folks learning the techniques but not learning how to fight... kind of defeats the purpose of learning techniques if you don't also learn how to fight better.

I suggest you don't try to mix systems at first but stick to one and then cross-train later. Or just pick a mixed system like Kajukenbo which will include kenpo and boxing plus others to start off with and then decide later if you want to specialize in any one area more.