BJJ vs football

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by wildloosecomma, Jun 23, 2007.

1. wildloosecomma

wildloosecomma New Member

So today I grappled this enormous football player dude called Conan (it was his first day at the bjj gym and yeah I thought it was funny at the moment) and basically at the end even with the 50 pound weight ( me 6'1 150 pounds him 5'11 200+) difference I caught him in an arm bar. The only thing is I feel kinda bad cuz ive been doing BJJ for about 8 months(ive been taking no gi bjj at a krav gym but unfortunately they only teach it twice a week) and it took me almost 3-4 minutes of him writhing around in my guard to tap him out. I also feel half dead right now, am I behind where I should be at this point?

Last edited: Jun 24, 2007
  2. Agutrot-

Agutrot- Jack of all Trades

Yes. If someone has no knowledge of BJJ it shouldn't take anything to break them down in guard and submit them.

3. bcullen

bcullen They are all perfect.

No, sometimes the only way you can get someone with a major weight and strength advantage is to wait until they play themselves out.

4. flashlock

flashlock Banned Banned

Sorry to be off topic, just a quick question: how do you find the combo of krav maga and BJJ? Which do you find more practical?

5. wildloosecomma

wildloosecomma New Member