Best Martial Art for those with balance issues...Judo perhaps

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by M51AB, Dec 17, 2008.

1. M51AB

M51AB New Member

For those who haven't read my DMA intro:

I have fool hemiplegia Cerebral Palsy on the right side of my body. In english this means the right side of my body is FUBR, but the left is fine.

I studied Tae Kwon Do on and off for a few years after high school, but stopped shortly before testing for my red belt, because I felt I wasn't getting much out of it due to the bad balance on my right side.

I can't bare weight for more than a split second on the right side, so when I kicked I always did so with my right foot and when I punched, I always did so with my left arm. Needless to say my moves in sparring were very predictable and I was worried this would limit my abilities if I REALLY had to defend myself.

I've been thinking of taking up Judo, because just looking at the style, it seems like something I could do easier with my balance. It's also appealing because it appears to teach how to fall properly; which is very important because I do so occasionally in real life and would prefer to keep my steak for broken bones caused by a fall to zero.

I fell a lot in Tae Kwon Do and would prefer to study a Martial Art where that doesn't happen as much. After a fall, I'm guessing it takes a minimum of 10 seconds for me to get up. In a real fight scenario this would make me toast.

Is Judo right for me?:dunno:

2. SB1970

SB1970 Valued Member

firstly well done for getting on with doing what you want instead of not trying what you want to try!
    Secondly i think you've got to find a teacher(in any art) that is able and willing to teach you with your balance issues.I belive the disabled section of MAP is very good they might be able to give you pointers.
    good luck in your search!

3. sue1

sue1 Valued Member