Benefit of Bench Press?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Capt Ann, Aug 9, 2006.

1. Capt Ann

Capt Ann Valued Member

What does the bench press buy me?

I'm new to resistance training. I've read the stickies, searched the forums, and asked lots of questions. For the last six weeks, i've emphasized core stuff, compound motions, with free weights (not isolation or machines), in a rep range for strength (3 x 7, 3 x 8, 4 x 6, 5 x 5). I squat (a2g, overhead, box, dumbell, barbell), lunge, step up, Turkish get-up, twist, crunch with weights, dip, chin, row, and overhead or Cuban press. I've tried several others, and occasionally throw them in the mix, but the one exercize I just can't seem to 'get into' is the bench press.

I'm a 40-something-year old female, trying to improve my core strength, build bone density, and support my MA practice (TKD and sword). Am I missing something major by not doing the bench presses?

2. CosmicFish

CosmicFish Aleprechaunist

I'm no expert by any means, but I find the opposite. I love upper body work but am less keen on leg work. I put this down to the fact that I seem to be naturally fairly well developed in the upper body but have always had proportionally weak legs. In fact, when I first started out I could bench more than I could squat! Perhaps you have the same problem but the other way around?

Also, if you don't like to bench, do you like dips? Personally I do both (on different days) but I understand that there is a large carryover from one to the other.

3. Capt Ann

Capt Ann Valued Member

CF, I'm sure that's a large part of it. I've never had a lot of upper body strength (although the sword work has certainly addressed that).

As far as the other question, yes, I enjoy dips on the assisted dip machine (the one machine I really like, because I can start at less than a full-body-weight dip or chin, work on form, and build up my reps and resistance).

4. gornex

gornex Valued Member