Back to Basics

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by Judderman, Aug 8, 2010.

1. Judderman

Judderman 'Ello darlin'

I was thinking about the different audiences we (the MAP community and the specific ones in the "real" world) talk to. It occured to me that almost every demo or conversation assumes that the person we're talking to has some idea about the physical movement of fighting.

So I was wondering what advice some one would give to an absolute beginner?

2. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about

Nothing works 100% of the time.

3. robin101

robin101 Working the always shift.

from what I have seen of real fights ( a few up close and personal, quite a few on video, i like to look for what works and what doesnt, so i look at vids, and a load of sparring in the dojo) I can tell you to work on your tools. You need effective tools for each distance. Also be aware of how most people fight in a street situation. Here the statistics as I see them in percentages of what is used in the street fights I have seen.

Punching/hand strikes: 70%. The most reactional and intuative way to try to cause damage to a fellow human being. Even someone who has never been in a fight or trained a day in his life can throw these to some effect, expect wild flailing AND quick trained jabs.

Throws: 20%. wrestling throws, just plain yanking of clothes, clinches. this generally happens when strikes dont do their job. Learn to keep balance and to throw others off

Kicks: 5% you do see them on occasion, both martial arts style thrust and roundhouse kicks (dont have to have training to throw these), knees are used to extent as well , and the football style kicks and stomps to downed opponents.

Exotic: 5% headbutts, eye gouges etc. expect the unexpected.

This is NOT a coverall and exactly how things are, just basic estimates on what I have seen used in real street fights (i.e brawls, attacks (intent to maim, kill) muggings, drunken atatcks)