Ba Ting Gum training

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by kprz1337, Sep 17, 2005.

1. kprz1337

kprz1337 New Member

This is a type of iron body training that has dynamic movements. I just started practicing it and am not sure about the breathing. In the vid Lacy breathes hard in each movement with his mouth closed, growling a little. When I do it my throat starts to hurt by this breathing, any advice on breathing dynamically?

2. onyomi

onyomi 差不多先生

Do you know the Mandarin name of this qigong? I've never heard of it before. If it's anything like most qigong then the throat should play as small a role as possible in the breathing. Breath from the lower abdomen, feeling the area beneath your navel expand downward as you inhale and inward as you exhale. This is the most basic breath in qigong, i.e. the natural or natal breath, but all the other breathing methods make use of the lower abdomen as the primary mover of the breath. There should be no tension in the throat or chest.

3. kprz1337

kprz1337 New Member

Thanks for the advice, This system was created by Fung Doe Duk teacher of the Five Elder monks. Theres no soft breathing, its all hard and you have to tense your muscels in each movement.

4. onyomi

onyomi 差不多先生

I've checked out the webpage of the system I think you're referring to and am sorry to inform you that it is BS. It clearly gets its history from Kung Fu novels and the like. You should probably find a more legitimate qi gong teacher before you hurt yourself.