Artforms - Understanding

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by Nick Mandilas, Mar 21, 2006.

1. Nick Mandilas

Nick Mandilas Resistance is an option..

As an Illustrator and designer by trade, I have been helping a friend's daughter by tutoring her in fine art. She has been having alot of trouble in her life drawing class (sketching live models or still life i.e.: fruit, bottles platters etc.)
    So last week, we started by working on a simple apple. I placed the apple in front of her and asked her to draw what she saw which came out like a circle with a hump at the top and a leaf sticking off a stem. She spent the most of her time shading with colours, trying to compensate the poor replication of the apple by hiding it behind tones and colours which in the end became overkill. Upset, she scrunched up her face..."that looks nothing like it, she said.
    I told her that her problem was she was looking at an apple and trying to draw an apple. What she had to do was look at the "Shape" of the apple...break it down to simple curves, and the distance between each curve, then replicate what she sees, translating it to the paper. But before that, she had to go even more basic then that, first to draw a single line that found the angle of the apple, then some foundation lines that gave us basic chape, then look for the curves

She tried again, and after a handful of tries, and though the perspective was out and the apple looked a bit skewed...she had managed to find all the apples curves and structure...It's identity so to speak. There was no shading, for I didn't let her waste time on that just yet. But each time she looked at the apple she saw it in a different light. On the last try for the day, she looked up at what she had done and said "I can't believe I got it!"
    "Well you haven't got it yet, I told her, but you're well on your way.