Anyone heard of this Instructor?

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Qasim, Jul 19, 2004.

1. Qasim

Qasim Valued Member

Found this site posted in another forum.

Lancaster Aikido http://home.earthlink.net/~lancasteraikido/index.html

Click the photos in the "Articles" section to watch the videos.

I'm a beginner, but it gave me the heebie geebies when I saw the videos on it. Clearly something is wrong here. :eek: :woo:

2. aikiscotsman

aikiscotsman Banned Banned

I know what you mean, i guess we must be missing the big pic (god knows what it is).

3. Dave Humm

Dave Humm Serving Queen and Country

Hmm

Bit of a strange one this.

The video clips of the aikido do absolutely no credit for the art, to the newcomer however, the title of the article in which these clips are part, is..

How can a “soft” art be effective?

1st problem form me.

Aikido studied in a martial sense isn't soft by any stretch of imagination

2nd problem for me.

Although the article is indeed about the supposed softness/effectiveness of aikido, the clips of the so called technicalities are, well appauling. We all know we can practice in any degree of speed from almost static to full speed however, the foundation/principles of what we do are evident regardless.

3rd problem for me.

A nick-pick I realise however, white hakama for Aikido ?? I don't think so.

I could go on but wont. :)

Now, take a look at the Iaido article.
    I study MSR and the quality between the MSR clips and the Aikido is a world apart. The technicality in the iai clips could be debated but that would be unfair not knowing the guy's grade or supposed ability but, equating that to the quality/technicality of the aikido clips, given he's supoosed to be an instructor.. well put it this way, I wouldn't take a class.

Dave

4. bambeer

bambeer Whatareyoudoingrightnow

here

The above link brings you to a discussion about this teacher.

cheers,

bambeer

5. JohnnyX

JohnnyX Map Addict

Didn't do anything for me.

6. RichieRich