Any word on Alex Wilkie in NJ?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by hux, May 24, 2007.

1. hux

hux ya, whatever.

I'm on long term assignment in Somerset, NJ. The closest MA school of an kind I can find is:

http://www.alexwilkie.aikidesigns.com/

any word on this school? I was thinking I might give systema a shot. I'll be here about a year, I think.

2. hux

hux ya, whatever.

well, as an MMA and kickboxing school they get two thumbs up from me - depsite the website kinda promoting a somewhat thuggish image ;) Alex is technically sound and the guys are cool to work with you. There's a pro fighter training there and he seems great as well.

I haven't tried the systema class yet.

3. robj

robj New Member

So this place good ? What about for a beginner? I'm new to the scene hoping to learn a variety of mma and hopefully find something that is for me...

4. hux

hux ya, whatever.

LOL yea I was just posting on your other thread :)

Here's the thing..you'll be partnering up with someone approx. your size. Could be another beginner, could be a pro fighter. The thing is, though, everybody is VERY good to work with you no matter what level yer at. You'll do some rolling on your first night - but again, they are great to work with. Nobody is going to hurt you intentionally, but look forward to tapping a lot.

Heck, if it will help with comfort level I'll work with you the first few times. I'm certainly no instructor but I've been training MMA for about a year altogether pre and post surgery.

Be ready to work yer ass off in the heat. There's no A/C there. I highly recommend calling and talking to Barry with additional questions. Tell him Charles the computer nerd from NC sent you ;) He'll get a kick out of that. :)

PS there are some hotties that train on Tuesday(kickboxing) nights. I'm just sayin'.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  5. robj

robj New Member