An introduction of sorts.

Discussion in 'Silat' started by Sekaralas, Aug 22, 2005.

1. Sekaralas

Sekaralas New Member

Friends, I am not an expert on any silat save my own, and am not as versed in my tradition as I would like, as I've mostly been interested in functionality, but there are members of my family who can do the leg work for me .. hehe.
    Therefore I thought you might find it interesting from a historical perspective to know some of my family lineage ... and then again it might not :D !
    If is, please read on.

This is the detail as is passed orally through my family.

It begins with Sentot Prawiradirja who was the elder brother of Eyang Donoyudo (Wedono = face, Yudo = battle ... The Face of Battle ... they had interesting names!)
    I mention Sentot, because he was the inner circle of three of Pangeran Diponegara (check any Indonesian history book) and Kiai Mojo, and some say that he (Sentot) was a traitor because he eventually worked for the Dutch.
    Eyang Donoyudo (is my great grandfather from 6 generations back) was an officer underneath the command of his brother Sentot in Raden Diponegara's army. (Pangeran Diponegara was a pahlawan, a prince from the Yogyakarta Sultanate, a hero fighting the oppression of the Dutch colonialists).
    Eyang Donoyoudo had a son, Eyang Yudo Manggolo ( which also roughly translates as the "face of the fight") and he was also a military man. Eyang Yudo Manggolo had a daughter who married a noble from the Kraton in Surakarta (modern day Solo) whose name was Eyang Marto and they had a daughter, my Eyang Puteri (my fathers mother).
    The interesting thing thing about this line is that when you follow Eyang Marto's line back it goes like this : his dad was Eyang Singo (Solo Kraton) to Eyang Mito ... who was a contemporary (fought alongside) my Eyang Donoyudo.