An interesting situation to be starting a dojo from

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Tdog, Oct 1, 2015.

1. Tdog

Tdog New Member

Hello,

I hope you are having a good day. My name is Tyler and I'm looking at starting my own martial art school within the next 6 months. I'm young (19 years old currently) and I only received my first dans this past summer (Goshinkwai taijitsu, kobukwai jiujitsu and a street survival course called operative combat system (kiku sentou shisutemu). Despite this I've been training to teach for the past 2 years and have run some of the classes and was an assistant in a youth class (ages 4-12) for just over a year. I'm even taking a business management course at collage to learn how to run my own business successfully. I can no longer train with my sensai as I live too far away now (he is in Germany and I'm in Canada) and there was the expectation that I would teach when I moved. I have been here for about 4 months and currently only have one student but that is because he is the only one I've talked with at this present moment.