Advice on other martial arts taht compliment Wu Shu

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Darth Cyrus, May 25, 2006.

1. Darth Cyrus

Darth Cyrus New Member

I am studying Wu Shu and enjoying it alot, in fact i am loving. I will admit I orginally only started studying martial for the fitness aspect (and it kicking my butt into shape). I am also enjoy learning the historty of the art and the culture of China.

so here is my question, my Sifu travels back to mainland China to study every 2-3 months so now and then there are 1-1/2 month gaps between classes. So what other martial art would compliment my Wu Shu study, mainly looking for something that will keep me in shape (yes I know I can do my Wu Shu at home and keep up, but I also like learning new things).

Also out of curiousity what martial arts woudl conflict studying Wu Shu?

2. 19thlohan

19thlohan Beast and the Broadsword

What would compliment it best depends on which style your doing and what they focus on. Generally I would say judo or jujitsu since most kung fu schools don't focus on the ground techniques and many lineages have lost it completely. You would gain some new variations on your shuai and na techniques and add a new demension with the ground game.

Some styles of karate would conflict with your training becuase they're so hard and rigid.

3. Yohan

Yohan In the Spirit of Yohan Supporter

What style do you take? Just generic, acrobatic-type wushu?

What skill set do you want to develop?

4. Darth Cyrus

Darth Cyrus New Member

Yeah a generic Wu Shu, we do also spend some time learning 24 movement Tai Chi, which I also like.

I have looked in Jujitsu since that would be some grappling and different then what I am learning now.

Like I said I love to learn and I am looking for a good workout.

5. Guizzy

Guizzy with Arnaud and Eustache

If you are learning modern acrobatic wushu, then you probably do not care about whether a second art would complement wushu from a fighting standpoint.