Advice for advancing

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Zerodauto, Apr 9, 2010.

1. Zerodauto

Zerodauto Valued Member

Hello all. I am currently a yellow belt in TKD and I know for certain that I want to teach when I attain a high enough level. I usually go everyday except recently I've been busy and missed almost two weeks. But I did make it to yellow belt in one month of going everyday (except Sat. and Sun.) and training my hardest. I generally practice everything I've learned every chance I get everyday. I was wondering If there is any advice anyone could give to help me improve even more?

2. robertmap

robertmap Valued Member

Hi

You are not going to like this... :)

Take it S L O W E R

I have been doing Tae Kwon Do for about the last six months (TAGB) style - am vaguely capable of making a mess of the first three patterns - and still virtually unable to spar without someone calling 'foul' as I have lots of 'old habits' for things that are not allowed in TKD sparring (the most common ones being when I grab a kick or stand on the toes of a partner)... Anyway, after nearly six months I am a WHITE BELT and have little intention of grading any-time soon... Why, because you want to focus on getting the basics better and better - grades mean next to nothing but ability is rooted (pun) in basics.

YMMD (Your Mileage May Differ).

All the best.

Robert.

3. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

The best thing you can do is turn up and train. You go to class enough, no need to do any more, but keep it regular. You are eager now, but don't get caught in the 'oh sorry I can't make it tonight, I have only just got in from work brigade'. If necessary take your training gear to work, uni, school'. Keep it regular, practice at home and as robertmap said 'don't overdo it'. Plan rest days into your programme.
    I always say the same thing, "weeks turn into months, months turn into years etc".