Abdominal and Reverse Breathing

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by SickDevildog, Nov 24, 2005.

1. SickDevildog

SickDevildog Lost In The Sauce

Question for all you people practicing reverse breathing:

- How far into your training did you start practicing reverse breathing?
    - When and how long do you practice it?
    - What differences did it make for you while doing form in terms of relaxation and overall feel?

I've been training in Tai Chi and Shuai Chiao for about 7 months, up until now I've only been using natural breathing and experimenting with reverse breathing every now and then to get a feel for it.

Would it be a good idea to mix natural and reverse breathing while doing forms, or should I stick to one or the other?

Thanks in advance.

/edit

Thanks, changed it to natural breathing.

Last edited: Nov 24, 2005
  2. onyomi

onyomi 差不多先生

In the Buddhist system of qigong I practice we use natural breathing for certain sets of exercises and reverse breathing for others. Generally speaking, reverse breathing is a more forceful method, conducive to dropping the qi into the dantian rather suddenly and also for sending it out to the limbs suddenly. Natural breathing is more conducive to full body relaxation, stretching of the limbs, increasing lung capacity, and full body circulation. As somewhat of an overgeneralization, natural breathing can be said to be more beneficial to health while reverse breathing is more conducive to martial applications. Both are an important part of a complete system of qigong.