A teacher's summer vacation

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by famine27, Jun 6, 2003.

1. famine27

famine27 New Member

Hello. I've been reading through some postings and other web pages to find out what style to begin learning this summer. I've found this question to be very common, and the common responce is, "Pick what suits you." So, perhaps, if I explain my situation, someone out there can help me.

I'm 27 years old, 6'2", 215 lbs., and I have always been athletic. The funny part is that I have never played group sports. I have been lifting weights for 10 years, but only recently have I discovered the "proper" way to make great gains. More importantly, I am a high school teacher with the next 10 weeks to do whatever I want. I have decided to hit the weights in hopes of making my body do what I tell it. At the same time, I feel that taking on a martial art would greatly improve my balance and flexibility. But I'm not a Yoga kind of person! I don't want to take a martial art that teaches me to fight with staffs, or fight one-on-one with another martial artist. Truth be told, it would be nice to be able to defend against 15 attackers at once. Sure, this sounds a bit...stupid, but it seems like a good place to begin.

On a side note, I almost broke my neck when I was 15 (my brief encounter with the team sport of wrestling). My neck is now strong, but it doesn't react well to being kicked or jared. Is it possible to take a martial art without being kicked in the head? The rest of me can take about any abuse...I am married after all.

Anyway, I'm interested in anyone's opinion.

Thanks

2. JediMasterChris

JediMasterChris Columbo

I don't think there are any arts to help you defend against 15 attackers, that's just on TV. Don't expect somebody to attack you one at a time, either.

3. famine27

famine27 New Member