A talk about what works. Please participate.

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by Combat Sports, Nov 13, 2012.

1. Combat Sports

Combat Sports Formerly What Works Banned

Because of my deep interest in the issues presented in "Tao of Jeet Kune Do" by Bruce Lee I became very interested in "what actually works". I read and re-read that book several times and plan to do so again now that I have plunged back into the martial arts world. And back into situations that cause me to have to break up violence.

My personal training is limited. Money always held me back. But I read books like crazy and have always been into strategy. I also got into a lot of fights due to my childhood. (I lived in an area where I was a racial minority and was often targeted with violence for that reason.)

My children recently became old enough that bullies are now an issue and this kind of re-lit the fire of my interest in this topic, along with the fact that I am a journalist who covers protests and other events in the Occupy movement. Though Occupy itself is a peaceful movement we end up in some of the worst neighborhoods in the country and I often find myself needing to break up fights. I have very strong verbal skills for this and I have yet to have to do anything physical. But being exposed to people who are so stoned on crack or meth that you cannot reason with them has also become a problem. (Not Occupiers, but the homeless people who tend to show up looking for food or a fire.)

I felt helpless because I realized I knew how to hurt people. What I was not confident in was my ability to deal with people like that without hurting them. While at the same time not getting myself hurt.

In my journey to do this I think back on the various fights I have been in and what worked and what did not.